Reviews

Enrico – November 2011

Great and clean apartment provided with all the needed forniture. Located in the very city centre. Worm welcome by the host. Very pleasant stay!!!

50 Responses to “Reviews”

  1. Sylvie L. says:

    Super
    Date of Stay – 07 June 2016
    Super accueil par Jaime, situation idéale. Appartement coquet et au calme . Bonne situation. Je recommande . Sylvie

  2. Peter W. says:

    Very nice property – excellent location
    Date of Stay – 03 May 2016
    Jaime met us when we arrived and provided very helpful information about local attractions, shops, restaurants and historical features. The studio is walking distance to everything – Cais da Ribeira, Sao Bento Station, the D. Luis bridge, Historical buildings. Easy bus trip out to Matosinhos – a must visit for the fish restaurants. Perfect location! More than big enough for the 4 guests that we need to accommodate. Jaime also left us a bottle of wine and a bowl a fruit… Nice touch!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    L’endroit parfait / Perfect place
    L’appartement est conforme à la description et est situé très idéalement dans la ville: la plupart des endroits intéressant sont à moins de 20 minutes à pieds et la gare ferrovière est à 5 minutes, rendant également accessible la plupart des villes touristiques dans les 100km autour de Porto. Le propriétaire est à l’image des Portugais: gentil, serviable, charmant, et une source d’informations idéales pour optimiser son séjour. Nous avions tout ce qu’il fallait pour un merveilleux séjour en famille (2 enfants) The apartment is like described and perfectly placed in downtown: most of things to visit are at less than 20 minutes walking and train station is at 5 minute walking, allowing to reach easily all other touristic cities in a 100km area from Porto. Apartment owner is like Portugese people: kind, charming and available for an endless source of information in order to get the city tour perfect. We had everything for marvelous holidays with family (2 kids)

  4. Dora says:

    May 2016
    Great location in Porto. Jaime is very friendly and professional. We stayed in the appartement for three nights with two kids and were all satisfied. Surely a good address to stay in Porto.

  5. Amy says:

    May 2016
    Jamie’s studio apartment in the centre of Porto was an ideal location for a long weekend for my boyfriend and I travelling from London. It was well equipped, clean and ideal for a short break in the city. We were met by Jamie himself, who kindly provided us with a comprehensive map and some local knowledge on some of the popular sights and restaurants in the city. We were also left a bottle of wine and some fruit on arrival. We would definitely stay again!

  6. Aline D. says:

    A wonderful stay in Porto
    Date of Stay – 02 April 2016
    We thoroughly loved our time in Porto. The apartment is comfortable, bright, welcoming and quite spacious for a studio. We walked to most of the sights and all the amenities are a few steps away. Jaime, a charming gentleman, cheerfully greeted us and gave us an excellent overview of Porto. We certainly would recommend this property to friends.

  7. James says:

    Marsh 2016
    Jaime’s flat is beautifully located and well appointed. We made more explicite use of the flat’s location than the flat itself, but the shower has excellent water pressure and the view from the windows makes getting up in the morning easier.

  8. Anonymous says:

    We recently stayed for five nights in Jaime’s Studio I in downtown Porto. The studio has a great view of street life but it is high enough off the street to be quiet in the evening. It’s an amazing central location for touring Porto is one block from Sao Bento train and metro stations. Jaime met us at the studio and gave us great advice on touring Porto, traveling by rail, arranging Taxi’s etc. Everything in the studio was perfect and Jaime was even insistent on replacing a light bulb that was out. It was very comfortable for the two of us, clean and neat.
    Recommended for: Sightseeing, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway

  9. Anonymous says:

    Lovely place
    Brilliant location- airport is 20 mins away on the metro then a 5 min walk to the apartment. It has all you need- I stayed in studio 3 and had a hairdryer, clean towels, dishwasher etc. All clean on arrival. There is air con too- it does get hot in the upstairs loft but if yo uleave the aircon on with wondows closed it is fine. location- 3 mins walk to the centre whrere you can catch the 500 bus to the beach which is a longer, but more scenic route than others. it costs 2.30 euros return and is c.40 mins. nightlife- dotted around really, there are a few cute little bars that are popular with locals, but you have yto go on an adventure to find them. they are about a 20 min stroll away. the only thing i ca say which is slightly bad about this flat is it on the third floor so you have to be fit to get to it. overall 10/10 though!

  10. Nicole K. says:

    Nice
    Date of Stay 12 February 2015
    The owner was very pleasant, helpful, and no problems checking in/out. He had the baby crib and high chair all set up. The Apt was spacious and in a nice location. It worked well for us.

  11. Loes says:

    September 2015
    We had a terrific time in Porto, and in Jaime’s appartement. Jaime was very kind to meet us there late in the evening when we arrived late, even when our flight was an hour delayed, no problem! He showed us the places to be on the map, answered all our questions. Really nice welcome! The studio was also really good, perfect location, well equipped (also possibility to cook a meal), good shower ;). At first when we saw there was a train station at the back we were a bit worried there might be some noise, but it was absolutely fine. In fact we were surprised about how quiet it was at night at such a central location. I would definitely recommand Jaime’s studio! Just a tip for other guest: at the quay you can rent a bike, go along the riverside to the sea, on your way back take the ferry to the little fishermans village on the other side of the river (eat some some really good fresh fish there!), and cycle back past the port houses. We really enjoyed that trip!!

  12. Sean says:

    August 2015
    Jamie was really kind and helpful. He took a lot of trouble to make us feel at home and to tell us about shops, restaurants, and sights in the neighbourhood. He also kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up for our departure to the airport. Much better than a hotel. I thoroughly recommend the neighbourhood. Interesting things to see especially to learn about port wine production. The local people in shops and restaurants made a big effort to be friendly and helpful.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Date of Stay – 24 September 2014
    Charmant
    Conforme à la description, nous reviendrons dans cet appartement si l’occasion se présente. Fonctionnel, charmant, très bien situé, proche du centre, il nous a laissé un extrêmement bon souvenir. Propriétaire vraiment charmant aussi. A fortement recommander.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Great, centrally located, comfortable apartment
    We travel extensively and get tired of hotel rooms regardless of price. A kitchenette adds immensely to your flexibility, especially if you are staying several days or have some dietary restrictions you want to maintain. Also at top of our list is location, location, location. Some days it is nice to venture far, so transport is important. Some days nice to stay close to the room, so you can pop in, change clothes, drop some bags, take a nap etc. We are extremely pleased that we chose the Studio 2. All of the positive comments in the reviews are true. Larger than many hotels we’ve stayed in, the apartment is comfortable and bright. We very much enjoyed lazy mornings in the room waiting for the rain to let up, having a pot of coffee and fresh bread and fruit from nearby shops, reviewing our plans for the day and the maps. The apartment is on a nice shopping street near the train station. Also nearby is Rua de Santa Catarina a lively pedestrian shopping street. The Pingo Doce supermarket a short walk away is a large complete store with everything you could need during your stay. The apartment is so literally in the centre, 10 minutes in any direction is of interest. Jamie provided excellent guidance for transport from the airport, met us at the apartment, and showed us on the city map places to see and things of interest. Everything was within an easy walk or public transport from the apartment. Again, location ! Jamie is a very kind and gracious host and we hope to visit his apartments again. As an additional note, I highly recommend the 3 day public transport card which Jamie told us about. 15 euro when we were there, it is good for unlimited travel for 72 hours from first use, on any metro, bus and the funicular from the river. An excellent value.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Great Stay
    We had a great stay in this apartment! Jamie was easy to coordinate with prior to arrival and then helpful while we were in Porto. The apartment had everything we needed, was close to transit and within walking distance to many of Porto’s sights. The only improvement I can think of is a clothes washer…
    Recommended for: Sightseeing, Tourists without a Car

  16. Anonymous says:

    Très bon séjour
    L’appartement est très bien situé, en plein centre ville de Porto, ce qui permet de profiter à fond de la ville. Le propriétaire réserve un accueil chaleureux aux locataires, et donne pleins d’idées de sorties et de visites à faire ! Si nous revenons à Porto, nous reviendrons au studio sans hésitations !

  17. Natasha S says:

    This lovely picturesque studio apartment was conveniently located, neat and clean, nicely furnished and of course the big French windows were beautiful. There were cooking facilities and lots of thoughtful supplies like salt and pepper, tea, etc which made our stay delightful. We didn’t want to leave!

  18. Alina A says:

    Wonderful apartment – charming design, clean with a comfortable bed, modern appliances and a beautiful view of the Cathedral. It’s so centrally located on a safe street that we were able to walk easily to every one of our destinations. Jaime met me at the apartment when I arrived and was incredibly helpful and friendly. He took the time to show me all the Porto highlights on a map and even reserved a taxi for my trip back to the airport. I highly recommend this apartment and location as it was a lovely experience.

  19. Enrico A says:

    Great and clean apartment provided with all the needed forniture. Located in the very city centre. Worm welcome by the host. Very pleasant stay!!!

  20. Nicolas F says:

    Great apartment. Super location. Jaime is really helpful, nice and resoursefull

  21. Marco M says:

    Jaime is was very kind and helpful, he gave us full of details on what to visit, where to go to have good traditional food, and many other infos. The apartment is perfect for 2, cosy and most of all is 5 min. far from the city center! Porto was amazing, we will come back soon!

  22. Marion G says:

    We went in Porto to have some rest and visit this very nice city and we were not disappointed! Jaime was the perfect host and gave us useful advice and things you need to know about the town as soon as we arrived. The studio was lovely and perfect for holidays. We will recommand it to our friends and families.

  23. Kristin F says:

    Jaime’s place was one of the best amongst our airbnb stays! He was extremely gracious, greeted us on the street, sat down and showed us where to go and even left us with a bottle of wine! His place is adorable and had everything we needed including an amazing view and a fully-functional kitchen. It was very clean, and just a short walk to the train station and many good restaurants (which Jaime was happy to point out to us). We recommend walking to the market nearby and getting some good eats for a hearty breakfast before hitting all of the sites of Porto.

  24. Erika T says:

    Fantastic visit to Porto made all the smoother staying at Jaime’s apartment. Excellent location and Jaime is very helpful and informative. I will be recommending this to my friends and would definitely stay here again. Thanks Jaime!

  25. Serene B says:

    Jaime’s flat in Porto was just what we were hoping for- cozy, bright and in a great location to see the city. He provided us with clear and helpful directions to arrive from the airport and greeted us with a bottle of wine and a delicious fruit basket. We kept discovering similar little touches throughout our stay: a little jewelry caddy by the bed, notepad and pen just where you needed it and lots of info about what to see while in town. At our initial meeting, Jaime provided us with a map to the city and highlighted all the things worth seeing. He gave us some recommendations for places to eat out which were great- definitely take him up on them! Though the flat was a little smaller than it seemed in the picture it was lovely for two and very comfortable and SO well appointed. We didn’t lack for anything the entire time. Overall, the perfect way to see Porto and hope to return one day!

  26. Mariangela (& Simon) G says:

    What a brilliant finding! We loved this studio, it was very cosy and had everything we could possibly need. Location was just perfect, walking distance to all main attractions yet you could feel part of a quiet and secure neighborhood; lots of good restaurant and bars around as well. Jaime was a brilliant host and we are glad we could spend four days in Porto and explore this beautiful city by leaving as locals. Thanks Jaime. Mariangela & Simone

  27. Andrey F says:

    Отлично. Есть все необходимое. Чистые и современные апартаменты. Расположены очень удачно в исторической части города. Близко от набережной, вокзала, основных исторических достопримечательностей. Если будем в Порто, обязательно остановимся там снова. Добродушный и отзывчивый хозяин, мы были приятно удивлены подарком при заселении в апартаменты – бутылкой португальского вина и фруктами. Рекомендуем эти апартаменты

  28. Riccardo V says:

    Jaime è una persona squisita, puntuale e disponibile. Consiglio a tutti di fermarsi nel suo monolocale per poter visitare 2 o 3 giorni la città di Porto. Tornerò sicuramente da lui se avrò bisogno!

  29. Massimiliano V says:

    Jaime was really really nice. I just saw him once at my arrival and he cleared me all the thngs i had to know about Porto. Perfect host. The house is really pretty in an old building and it is is five minutes from everything you want to see. GO HERE !!!!

  30. Vasili G says:

    Jamie was incredibly welcoming and gave us a ton of information about Porto and the apartment. The apartment itself was clean and comfortable and stocked with everything we needed and more! It was conveniently located, literally one block from the train station. If you are going to stay in Porto, stay here.

  31. Josh G says:

    A fantastic base for exploring Porto. Smallish (it is a studio, after all), but well decorated, well appointed, and very central. Jaime even left us a bottle of wine and some fruit! Definitely recommended

  32. Dan S says:

    The studio is perfect in every way, and Jaime was a superb host. The location makes it easy to walk to all of the great sights of Porto. We found everything we needed in a compact and charming space; full kitchen, TV, wi-fi, balcony with charming street views and great jazz music from the Tribeca across the street. Everything spotless, comfortable, efficient. We couldn’t have asked for more. Jaime gave us a full orientation to the studio and Porto at the beginning, and ordered a taxi for us at the end. In short, a really strong evaluation from a well-traveled international couple.

  33. Janet H says:

    The studio provided a clean, quiet, simply and beautifully decorated home away from home for my week’s stay in Porto. It is conveniently located, within walking distance of everything in the center and port area with a lovely view over the Sao Bento train station and beyond (rather than street side). Jaime was welcoming and explained details of the apartment and the city when I arrived and otherwise it was my place to enjoy. I would by all means stay there again on my next trip to Porto!!

  34. Ajoy M says:

    The location of this apartment is really good and easy to access both downtown and Ribeira. Jaime was waiting for me at the time of check in and gave us a thorough and solid orientation. Jaime offered excellent communication and the apartment had all the amenities for a pleasant stay. My stay was extremely pleasant and Jaime even left a welcome fruit basket and bottle of wine. He was very responsive and check out was a breeze. I would recommend this apartment for anyone looking for an excellent location to explore Porto from.

  35. David M says:

    Perfect location and very nice and modern place. The location allows you to walk to all sightseeing in Oporto and just a few steps from restaurants, nighlife and main shopping street. Port Wine Tastings is a few minutes away and you are surrounded by all main city activity. If you want to really enjoy Porto city this is the perfect choice of apartment to you. Jaime will help you with inside Porto city tips and he will make you feel at home.

  36. Sara United Kingdom says:

    Studio 1 – Beautiful apartment, perfect location

    Review Submitted: October 5, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2009
    My mum and I just spent four days at Studio Centro in Porto and we loved it. The property was clean, attractive and wonderfully located. The high ceilings, juliet balconies and wood floors were lovely; the shutters were great too as even in late summer the room was properly dark at night.

    Jamie’s son welcomed us with wine and fruit, answered all our questions about the city and left us with plenty of information on where to go and what to do. We had no problems with the wifi or with any aspects of the apartment. I would absolutely stay there again and have recommended it to many friends. Thanks Jamie and Joao.
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  37. svandergeest Vancouver, BC, Canada says:

    Studio 1 – Sunny Space in the middle of Porto City

    Review Submitted: October 28, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
    My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful week at this studio in the historic centre of Porto. The space was bright, comfortable, and superbly located; we could walk or take metro anywhere we desired. We also felt truly a part of the city while we were there, it was a wonderful way to immerse ourselves in Porto city life- an opportunity we believe we would have missed had we stayed in a hotel.

    Porto is a wonderful city with incredibly friendly people. Jaime, our host, was reliable, generous with his time, quick to respond to any of our needs. It was a pleasure to meet him!

    The street on which the studio is located, is absolutely picturesque. One suggestion though, if you are sensitive to noise, bear in mind two of these studios look out onto a busy street which continues with foot traffic and auto traffic well into the night. Bring ear plugs if desired, or ask to try the studios at the back.

    Don’t miss the spectacular Sao Bento station literally half a block away from your doorstep, and a walk along the river Douro and over Pont St Luiz to the Port Wine cellars!

    Thank you again, Jaime, for your hospitality.

  38. Peter, Canada says:

    Downtown Studio 3
    Sight Seing in OPorto
    Review Submitted: October 14, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    The apartments are in an excellent location, rigth in Oporto downtown, you can walk everywhere. The room is brand new an in excellent conditions.
    Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  39. hansandolga, Neterlands says:

    Studio 3 – pleasant stay!

    Review Submitted: October 12, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    This is a very comfortable spacious apartment, situated on a perfect spot in the city centre, with all the facilities you need.
    The owner, mr Jaime Veloso, is very caring and helpfull and his service to us was splendid!
    Recommended!

  40. Chris, Arizona, USA says:

    Trip to Porto – Studio 3

    Review Submitted: September 29, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    This apartment was excellent. We absolutely loved staying there, given its location, its cozy-ness, and the amazing hospitality of the property manager.

    The only downside was that it is located close to a train station. Even so, that wasn’t much of a bother.
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

  41. AL, London says:

    Porto downtown Studio 3

    Review Submitted: September 24, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    Great location – perfect for sightseeing. Apartment contains everything needed for a relaxing stay.
    On arrival a great welcome from the owner and he provides any assistance throughout the stay – made us feel very welcome.
    Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  42. Melanie. France says:

    Studio 2 – belle prestation sur porto

    Review Submitted: November 2, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2010
    calme et tres propre cet appartement dispose de nombreux atouts pour les personnes qui souhaitent faire un petit séjour sur porto – situé en plein coeur de la ville – le propriètaire vous reservera un accueil très chaleureux
    Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway

  43. Menno and Rita, Netherlands says:

    Review Submitted: October 16, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2010
    Hello Jaime,

    We have had a lovely stay in Porto, despite the rainy days. The apartment is near the centre of Porto. The train station is 3 minutes away and you can make a day trip to Douro Valley, wich is lovely. The apartment was very clean en cozy, Jaime was very helpfull and he gave us many tips what we can do. Our arrival was very late in the evening, so Jaime was so kind to picked us up from the airport, that was very comfortably, thank you for this.

    Menno and Rita
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  44. Eddie Toronto, Canada says:

    Perfect refuge in a great location
    Review Submitted: September 30, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    Thank you Jamie for such a wonderful stay in Porto! The apartment was so clean and bright and even more beautiful in reality than the photos. It had everything we expected and more! It was located so central to all the important areas of Porto and in a nice neighbourhood with lots of cafes shopping and amenities. Jamie also gave us lots of advice and brochures about what to see in Porto.

    I would definitely recommend it to my friends travelling to Porto!
    Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  45. Electrico-fan London says:

    Excellent Porto Downtown Studio 2
    Review Submitted: September 18, 2010 Date of Stay: September 2010
    My wife and I stayed in this apartment in mid September 2010. The flat was made ready for us on arrival and the charming, friendly and helpful owner Jaime let us take occupation a few hours earlier than planned, as it was raining heavily and we needed to dry ourselves and change our clothes. A bottle of nice Portuguese wine and a bowl of fruit awaited us, which was a nice touch. The apartment has pretty much all the facilities one needs, except that there is no mop, dustpan and brush, so it is virtually impossible to clean the floors, kitchenette and bathroom, which is necessary during a stay of more than one week. There was no chopping board and the area of surfaces for food preparation is quite small. The flat is centrally situated with a lovely view towards the cathedral; it does overlook the platforms of Sao Bento station, so if you do not like the noise of trains arriving and departing, and the repetitive chimes at the start of each passenger announcement, this could be a problem, but it did not bother us.
    The main shops are just a minute or two’s walk away and there is a Pingo Doce supermarket within 6 or 7 minutes’ walk. We feel that we have to say that although this apartment is advertised as suitable for up to 4 people, more than 2 adults would find it extremely cramped, as it is essentially a bed-sitting room and kitchenette with a small shower room and WC leading off, and as there is minimal storage space for clothes, luggage etc, it would be a very tight fit for 4 people and there is no separate bedroom and no privacy. For two people, however, of for a family with a young child, it is ideal and we were very happy with our stay there.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

  46. Joi2010 Germany says:

    Hope to come back!
    Studio 2 -Review Submitted: February 21, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010
    Dear Jaime,
    thank you for the great time in Porto. Beginning with the nice e-mail contact before through the nice welcome with a bottle of wine, fruits and some important informations about Porto, till the end of our trip everything was was fine.
    best wishes,
    Kathrin, Henning and Joiya

  47. Maradardi Mama - Vinax (France) says:

    My husband and I really enjoyed the location of this beautifully clean and well appointed studio. There are bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Jamie is extremely helpful and has numerous suggestions about places to go and things to do. It is very well served by public transport. As rural country dwellers we enjoyed sitting by the balcony watching the street life going on below. The street that the studios are located on is fairly steep, however, very good for the the leg muscles and an ideal way to walk off the excellent Portuguese food, the portions are VERY large!!
    Thank you Jamie for an excellent city break.
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

  48. Eugenie&Bud (Brighton, UK) says:

    The perfet place!
    Jaime was a wonderful host to us — which was brilliant as I was 8 months pregnant! He provided a picture-perfect apartment for our (all too short) stay in Porto. He provided everything we could possibly want — from recommendations for local places to eat, to a bottle of wine (for my husband) and a bowl of fruit (for me) in the apartment. It was wonderfully comfortable (even with my being so heavily pregnant!), and so beautifully done up too. We had a really happy time and would recommend it very highly indeed!
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

  49. Spanish couple (Madrid-Spain) says:

    Great location for a weekend in Porto!
    The apartment is perfect because is in the center of Porto and very well equiped. Its only a minute far of the Porto´s famous café Majestic, and also near to the railway station.
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

  50. aberdave (Wales) says:

    What a find!
    The approach to the apartment belies the wonderland you will find when you open the apartment door. It is modern, yet comfortable. All the mod cons are there should you need them, dishwasher, microwave,CD player,TV(but why you would want to watch TV in such a magic city is beyond me). The attention to detail by the owner even goes down to having towels of different colours, so that each guest has their own. Our arrival was delayed for over an hour but the owner took this in his stride and arranged with our daughter new arrival plans and all went smoothly. The street outside is a busy city street with all the hustle and bustle of the city yet is never overpowering. The property is central for the city but the walk up from the river area can be hard after spending an evening in a restaurant/cafe but a taxi is quite reasonable (about 5E). I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone and indeed hope to use it again myself. The river cruises are a must but expect to have to wait until the coach loads of ‘reserved’ clients are let on board first. The only activities that I found upsetting was the amount of begging that is on the streets but unfortunately this is found in all major cities these days.
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway